International Peace Through Tourism Destination Awards

Please see the categories for the 2019 African IIPT Awards and submit your nominations here. Please note nominations close on 15th of July


See below for a list of winners at the 2019 IIPT Destination Awards held in Johannesburg, South Africa in July 2019.

South Africa - Change Maker in Tourism

This award will be awarded to the individual or entrepreneur who has made a significant change towards tourism either from within or outside the travel sector. An individual who has gone beyond the call of duty and spear-headed a new idea or product that brings change to the tourism industry in South Africa or to the continent of Africa.

Alain St. Ange

Craig Reuben Spencer

South Africa - Resilience Efforts Through Cultural Diversity or Environmental Sensitivity

This award looks for a local business, region or NGO that celebrates their cultural diversity through a proven approach that incorporates human interaction as an asset that promotes relationships that are nurtured and promoted through sustainable tourism.

African Bush Camps Foundation

The Black Mambas APU

South Africa - Resilient Tourism Business Award

This award is based on an entity who either has sustainable long-term exponential growth or practices that involve and invest heavily in human capital.

African Link Tourism

The Asilia Group

South Africa - Resilient Tourism Community Award

This award recognises community-based tourism projects which have created substantial social impact, through job creation, training or community development. The winner will be a local enterprise, region or NGO that can demonstrate the enhancement of the community through local cohesion that encourages the people to recognise they are manifestations of their heritage and by sharing their heritage they enrich the tourism sector.

Northern Rangelands Trust

S.A. Apartheid Museum